West Ham goalkeeper Lukasz Fabianski won the Hammer of the Year accolade at last night’s end-of-season awards ceremony.

Fabianski becomes the first goalkeeper to win this award since Rob Green in 2008. Since then, Jussi Jaaskelainen came second in 2011 and Adrian was twice runner-up in the following two seasons.

Only six goalkeepers have won the award in the past. Lawrie Leslie, Phil Parkes, Ludek Miklosko and Shaka Hislop are the other four names on this exclusive list.

(Photo by Mark Leech/Offside/Getty Images)

But Fabianski has vastly improved West Ham’s squad since his summer arrival. The Poland international also pipped Issa Diop and Felipe Anderson to Signing of the Season.

Fabianski joined West Ham from Swansea City and many Hammers supporters believe this was a bargain. The 34-year-old has shored things up between the sticks and is a reliable player to have in that position.

The veteran stopper has played every minute of every game for West Ham in the Premier League. And with 140 saves to his name, Fabianski leads the way in the top-flight with this stat.

Fabianski was a well-deserved winner of this top award, taking it from 2018 winner Marko Arnautovic. Here are some tweets showing fan reaction to this.


Have something to tell us about this article?