It’s around this time of the season we should start to think about who it is we want to crown Hammer of the year. Do we vote for the most consistent performer, has someone been outstanding all season, or someone who has hit form at the right time to stick in people’s minds!
When you look back at the past winners of this award you realise what a great achievement it is. And to be a classed as a Legend or a great do you have to win this trophy? I think so! Bobby Moore, Geoff Hurst, Trevor Brooking, Billy Bonds have all won this trophy and would surely all slot into an all time Hammers XI. Other winners include Paolo Di Canio, Joe Cole, Julien Dicks, Tony Cottee and Ludo Miklosko -All players who would be welcome back to Upton Park with open arms. As Joe has found out this year!
After reading a number of opinions on Twitter and at matches I think the contenders are, Winston Reid, Mo Diame, Jussi and an outside chance with Mark Noble or Joey O’Brien and I would be surprised if it wasn’t one of the above who collects the award this year.
I would however choose our Kiwi, the man who stuck the ball in the Pikey’s net has had a phenomenal season. He was purchased by Avram Grant and never really got a good run in the side that year. Last season he was the most improved player and really became a hero when he struck the winner against Millwall. Again this season he has continued to improve becoming arguably our, if not one, of our key players. An almost ever present at the back and he not only has been the most consistent but had the best performances!
Come on you Irons!!